Uses: Humectant, artificial sweetener, stabiliser, bulking agent, sugar substitute. Used in low-joule foods and carbohydrate modified sweets, chewing gum, ice-cream chocolate, and jams.
Erythritol can be used by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. The term carbohydrate alcohol is a chemical definition; erythritol does not contain alcohol (ethanol).
During fermentation, gases are produced, which may cause bloating and flatulence. In intolerant persons it can act as a laxative.
Side effects normally occur after an intake of 25-30 grams in a single dose, which is far above the usage in normal foods.
Description: Erythritol is a sugar alcohol. It is made during a fermentation process, then it is purified.
Since erythritol is not as sweet as sucrose, it may be used with artificial sweeteners such as aspartame, which may be undesirable.